is a DOH Health Media Recognition 2013 Awardee!

Saturday, November 30, 2013 Stef dela Cruz, MD 2 Comments

Let me share with you my moment of stupidity. A few days ago, I was invited by the Department of Health (DOH) to attend the “Parangal sa mga Kuwentong Pangkalasugan” (PKKP) Health Media Recognition Awards ceremony. Ridiculous as it sounds, I actually misunderstood the notification sent to me online – and I had absolutely no idea that I was already a winner.

PKKP Health Media Recognition 2013Yep, that’s me at the DOH Health Media Awards Ceremony, clueless, as usual.

PKKP Health Media Awards 2013Accepting my plaque and PhP20,000 cash prize from Dr. Ivanhoe Escartin, Director of the National Center for Health Promotion, and DOH Undersecretary Dr. Enrique Tayag. You can’t see it in the photo, but I was in dire need of a beta blocker!

With more than 100 entries in the running, I had zero expectations. That’s why I found it hard to believe when my health blog has been conferred by the DOH one of only two awards for blogging about universal health!

Congratulations to the other recipients of the PKKP Health Media Recognition Awards conferred by the DOH! But before I mention the other recipients of the PKKP Media Awards, let me give you a short backgrounder.

DOH Holds PKKP Health Media 2013 Awards

Yesterday, the Department of Health honored ten different stories on universal health care from around the Philippines. Winners were selected for each of five different categories. The five different awards categories are as follows:

  • Online
  • Print
  • Television
  • Radio
  • Blog

Out of 114 entries, 22 were shortlisted during the preliminary deliberation. Of these, the judges selected entries who were awarded a PKKP Health Media Recognition Awards plaque from the Department of Health and a cash prize of PhP20,000 each.

The committee for preliminary deliberation was composed of the following, belonging to either the health or media sector:

  • Tony Roda (National Center for Health Promotion of the Department of Health)
  • Rom Dongeto (Philippine Legislator’s Committee on Population and Development)
  • Diana Mendoza (Print Journalist)
  • Johanna Son (Inter Press Service Asia Pacific)
  • Booma Cruz (Broadcast Journalist)
  • Ariel Sebellino (Executive Director, Philippine Press Institute)

The team for final deliberation was composed of:

  • DOH Undersecretary Janette Garin
  • Red Batario (Center for Community Journalism and Development)
  • Cheche Lazaro (Probe Media Foundation)
  • Dr. Israle Francis Pargas (PhilHealth)

DOH PKKP Media Recognition Awards 2013 Winners

I’ve held back long enough. Drum roll, please. Finally, here are the winners of the DOH Health Media Recognition Awards!

  • GMA News TV
  • Malu Cadelina
  • Claire Delfin, GMA News Online
  • Denise Chiu, GMA News Online
  • Ma. Theresa Tabada and Cherry Ann Lim
  • Sheila Crisostomo (The Philippine Star)
  • Alvin Cloyd Dakis
  • Stef dela Cruz, MD (Wuh… Hey, that’s me!)

DOH Health Media Awards

PKKP 2013 winners

Health blogging is sometimes a thankless, moneyless job. Many bloggers start out as hobbyists, reaping very little appreciation and income. But once in a while, something like this comes along that pushes us a little more, urging us to keep doing what we do.

From This Health Blogger: Thank You!

Thank you to everyone who reads this blog! I am so grateful for your support. My gratitude also goes out to all the publications, print or online, who continue to publish my work. A special shoutout goes to the websites Talk Health Partnership and All Voices, Health Today Magazine, and Moms Today Magazine. Hugs and kisses to my health column’s permanent residence, Health Care Magazine.

Stef dela Cruz

In my heart, this award isn’t mine; it belongs to the people who have supported my decision to pursue a different career path. I wouldn’t be here, giddily typing away on my laptop while still recovering from shock, without my family’s unconditional support. I can’t ask for a better family.

Anak, do what makes you happy,” my parents said after I told them clinical practice made me miserable. They said that - without batting an eyelash - even after they spent a fortune on my medical education.

And before I forget, muchos gracias to Probe Media Foundation, the Department of Health, and the National Center for Health Promotion! Congratulations to all the winners of the DOH PKKP Media Recognition Awards!

Stef dela CruzAbout the blogger
Stef dela Cruz is a vegan doctor and writer. She received the 2013 Award for Health Media from the Department of Health. She is the editor of The Manila Bulletin's Animal Scene Magazine. Get in touch if you want to invite her as a speaker!


  1. Congratulations, Stef. You definitely deserve the award. May you reap more recognitions in the future. God bless.